The Mask

mirror_mask_by_suede631-d4d3c29
Once worn, I feel emboldened.
There is safety in anonymity.
I am but a character in a story,
not the person who suffers the
ups and downs of the every day.
With the facade in place, I can
change as desire strikes, to become
the thief, the lover, the visionary or the sage.
But obfuscation does not divest
one of investment.
I erred. I injured. I harmed.
Hiding my face does not make me invincible.
The distance is like a car-mirror;
I thought I was far away from anyone, but
reality is closer than it appears.
There is only one truth I have learned
once the collateral damage blows over
and the detritus of my doings is cleared:
a hero is more than a mask.

About E

Even as a child, I read voraciously. Writing has always been a natural outlet. Sometimes bordering on macabre or edgy, I was not always safe and even today I look at some of my writing and raise an eyebrow. Read me at your own risk. I am but a 30-something professional (don't ask a professional what, for I won't answer!) who spends nights as a dreamer and sometimes writer.
This entry was posted in 1999, poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

