Breath

In a breath,
everything changes.
I turn my head to see
the distant sound
of someone else’s conversation
or the flicker of movement
in the corner of my eye
only to discover
something has grown in front of me.
Organic, wholesome, this budding organism
is an affirmation of life.
Good things come unexpectedly.
They wouldn’t be so touching and meaningful
if they were expected.
In the same way,
everything falls apart;
in a breath.
Hard-won security reveals
the true crystalline sugar-spun structure
underlying the expected support.
An entitled moment’s respite
and a shuttered blink
are enough to send it crumbling to dust.
Assumption of the finish line
defines my faulty judgment.
As long as we live,
it’s never done.
The cycle continues
in joy and sorrow.
Sometimes they are huge,
sometimes tiny;
unpredictable
they appear and end
in a breath.

About E

Even as a child, I read voraciously. Writing has always been a natural outlet. Sometimes bordering on macabre or edgy, I was not always safe and even today I look at some of my writing and raise an eyebrow. Read me at your own risk. I am but a 30-something professional (don't ask a professional what, for I won't answer!) who spends nights as a dreamer and sometimes writer.
This entry was posted in 2016, poetry, random thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

